slideshow 0 slideshow 1 slideshow 2 slideshow 3 slideshow 4 slideshow 5 slideshow 6 slideshow 7 slideshow 8 slideshow 9 slideshow 10 slideshow 11

Al Socio Alberto CREDI il Netherlands Supramolecular Scholar Award

The Netherlands Supramolecular Chemistry Awards 2021
The Research Center for Functional Molecular Systems presents the Netherlands Awards
for Supramolecular Chemistry 2021, which recognize outstanding scientists in the field
of supramolecular chemistry.
The Netherlands Supramolecular Award is awarded to Professor Takuzo Aida. In 1988, he
conducted the co-facial assembly of amphiphilic porphyrins into one-dimensional architectures; the
first reported supramolecular polymers. Since then, he has pioneered the synthesis and
characterization of supramolecular polymers, and their translation into adaptive supramolecular
materials with superb functions. Next to supramolecular polymers, he inspired the world with many
novel concepts in supramolecular chemistry. He is the Deputy Director for the RIKEN Center for
Emergent Matter Science (CEMS) and professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biotechnology,
School of Engineering, at the University of Tokyo. Takuzo Aida is the fourth recipient of the
Netherlands Supramolecular Award, with Professors Jean-Marie Lehn, Sir Fraser Stoddart and Chad
A. Mirkin. He will receive the award during the National Netherland Chemistry Symposium CHAINS,
organized by the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO), December 7 & 8, in
The Netherlands Supramolecular Scholar Award is awarded to Professor Alberto Credi. His
interests are focused on the development of molecular systems and materials controlled by light; in
particular, his contribution to the realization of logic devices, machines and motors of nanometer
size is internationally recognized. He is professor of general and inorganic chemistry at the
Università di Bologna and associate research director at the National Research Council of Italy
(CNR). Alberto Credi is the sixth recipient of the Netherlands Supramolecular Scholar Award with
Professors Rafal Klajn, Hanadi Sleiman, Kenichiro Itami, Helma Wennemers and Tanja Weil. Their
contributions to science are inspiring to many Dutch chemists in the exciting field of
supramolecular chemistry.
The awardees will be invited to undertake a lecture tour of The Netherlands and present their work
at several universities.
The link to the Research Center for Functional Molecular Systems is here: 
The faculty board of the Research Center FMS is composed of Bert Meijer (Eindhoven University of
Technology), Ben Feringa (University of Groningen), and Wilhelm Huck (Radboud University

Copyright © 2012 Società Chimica Italiana. All Rights Reserved.